back to top
Monday, July 15, 2024
HomeArticlePadma Awards 2024 Nomination

Padma Awards 2024 Nomination

Must Read

Bharathi Pradeep
Bharathi Pradeep
Editor at Bharathi covers topics on Competitive exams, How To guides, Current exams, Current Affairs, Study Materials, etc. Follow her on social media using the links below.

Official Website for Nomination

Padma Awards Official Website

Nominate/Apply Now

The Last Date of Nomination is 15.09.2023

Padma Awards 2024

The Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian honours of India, are announced every year on the eve of Republic Day. The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan for exceptional and distinguished service; Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of higher order and Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field of activity. There ought to be an element of public service in the achievements of the person to be selected for these Awards.


Any person without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex is eligible for these Awards. However, serving Government servants, including those working with PSUs, except Doctors and Scientists, are not eligible for these Awards.

The Award seeks to recognize works of distinction and is given for distinguished and exceptional achievements/service in all fields of activities/disciplines. An illustrative list of the fields is as under:

Art – Includes Music, Painting, Sculpture, Photography, Cinema, Theatre, etc.

Social Work – Includes social and charitable services in the areas of affordable healthcare and education, other contributions to community projects like Environment, Sanitation, etc.

Public Affairs- Includes work in the area of Law, Public Life, Politics, etc. 

Science & Engineering – Includes Space Engineering, Nuclear Science, Information Technology, Research and development in Science & its allied subjects, etc.

Trade & Industry – Includes banking, economic activities, management, trading and business in the areas of manufacturing, hospitality, technology, textiles, accounting, finance, tourism, etc.

Medicine – Includes medical research and distinction/specialization in Allopathy, Ayurveda, Homeopathy, Siddha, Naturopathy, etc.

Literature & Education – Includes promotion of literacy and education, education reforms, teaching, journalism, literature & poetry, authors, etc.

Civil Service – Includes distinction/excellence in administration etc. by Government Servants

Sports – Includes Sports, Athletics, Mountaineering, promotion of sports, etc.

Others – Includes fields that are not covered in the above-mentioned fields. This may include Spirituality, Yoga, wildlife protection/conservation, Culinary, Agriculture, grassroots innovations, Archaeology, Architecture, etc.

Posthumous Cases

The Award is not conferred posthumously. However, in highly deserving and rare cases, the Government could consider giving an Award posthumously.

Eligibility for a Higher Category of Padma Award

A higher category of Padma Award can be conferred on a person only where a period of at least five years has elapsed since conferment of the earlier Padma Award. However, an exception can be made by the Awards Committee in cases of rare and most exceptional achievements.


1. Sanad (Certificate) and Medallion.

2. A small size replica (miniature) of the main medal is separately handed over to the recipient which can be worn by him/her during State/Ceremonial functions, etc.

3. No monetary grant is attached to these Awards.

4. The Award does not amount to a title and should not be used as a suffix or prefix to the name of the recipient in any manner whatsoever.

No. of Awardees

The total number of Awards that can be given in a year (excluding posthumous cases and Foreigners/NRIs/OCIs) is 120.

Who can nominate?

The nomination process is open to the public. Even self-nomination can be made. Nominations/Recommendations are invited online from 1st May to 15th September every year.

Selection Process

All nominations/recommendations received for Padma Awards are placed before the Padma Awards Committee which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year. No Award is conferred except on the recommendation of the Awards Committee. The recommendations of the Committee are submitted to the Prime Minister and the President of India for approval. The names are announced on the eve of Republic Day every year.

Ceremony Details

The Awards are presented by the President of India usually in the month of March/April every year where the awardees are presented a Sanad (Certificate) signed by the President and a medallion. The names of the awardees are published in the Gazette of India on the day of the presentation ceremony.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

Bharathi Pradeep
Bharathi Pradeep
Editor at Bharathi covers topics on Competitive exams, How To guides, Current exams, Current Affairs, Study Materials, etc. Follow her on social media using the links below.

More Articles Like This