back to top
Tuesday, June 25, 2024
HomeAwardsNational Sports Awards 2022

National Sports Awards 2022

Must Read

Bharathi Pradeep
Bharathi Pradeep
Editor at Bharathi covers topics on Competitive exams, How To guides, Current exams, Current Affairs, Study Materials, etc. Follow her on social media using the links below.

Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports recently announced National Sports Awards 2022.


  • India’s Table Tennis star Achanta Sharath Kamal has been conferred with the Major Dhyanchand Khel Ratna Award for 2022.
  • Seema Punia and Lakshya Sen were amongst the Arjuna Award winners for this year.
  • Eldhose Paul, Avinash Mukund Sable, and Nikhat Zareen were also conferred with Arjuna Awards.
  • The Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in the Sports and Games Regular category went to Jiwanjot Singh Teja (Archery), Mohammad Ali Qamar (Boxing), Suma Siddharth Shirur (Para Shooting) and Sujeet Maan (Wrestling).

Name of the Awards

  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna: It is the highest sporting honour of India. It was instituted in 1991–92. The recipient(s) is/are honoured for their outstanding performance in the field of sports over a period of four years at the international level.
  • Dronacharya Awards: It was instituted in 1985 to honour eminent Coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events.
  • Arjuna awards: It was instituted in 1961. To be eligible for the Award, a sportsperson should have had not only good performance over the previous four years at the International level but also should have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.
  • Dhyan Chand Award: It was instituted in 2002. It is an award for lifetime achievements in sports.
  • Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award: It is the highest national recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of adventure on land, sea and air.
  • Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy: It was instituted in 1956-57 to honour the top overall performing university in the Inter-University Tournaments.
  • Rashtriya Khel Protsahana Purushkar: It was instituted in 2009 to recognize the corporate entities (both in the private and public sectorss) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development.

Major Dhyaan Chand Khel Ratna Award

Shri Sharath Kamal Achanta – Table Tennis

Arjuna Awards For Sports and Games 2022

1.Ms Seema PuniaAthletics
2.Shri Eldhose PaulAthletics
3.Shri Avinash Mukund SableAthletics
4.Shri Lakshya SenBadminton
5.Shri Prannoy HSBadminton
6.Shri AmitBoxing
7.Ms Nikhat ZareenBoxing
8.Ms Bhakti Pradip KulkarniChess
9.Shri R PraggnanandhaaChess
10.Ms Deep Grace EkkaHockey
11.Ms Shushila DeviJudo
12.Ms Sakshi KumariKabaddi
13.Ms Nayan Moni SaikiaLawn Bowl
14.Shri Sagar Kailas OvhalkarMallakhamb
15.Ms ElavenilValarivanShooting
16.Shri Omprakash MitharvalShooting
17.Ms Sreeja AkulaTable Tennis
18.Shri Vikas ThakurWeightlifting
19.Ms AnshuWrestling
20.Ms SaritaWrestling
21.Shri ParveenWushu
22.Ms Manasi Girishchandra JoshiPara-Badminton
23.Shri Tarun DhillonPara Badminton
24.Shri Swapnil Sanjay PatilPara Swimming
25.Ms Jerlin Anika JDeaf Badminton

Dhyanchand Award For Lifetime Achievement

1.Ms Ashwini Akkunji C.Athletics
2.Shri Dharamvir SinghHockey
3.Shri B.C SureshKabaddi
4.Shri Nir Bahadur GurungPara Athletics

Dronacharya Award for Coaches in Sports and Games: Regular Category

1.Shri Jiwanjot Singh TejaArchery
2.Shri Mohammad Ali QamarBoxing
3.Ms Suma Siddharth ShirurPara Shooting
4.Shri Sujeet MaanWrestling

Dronacharya Award for Coaches in Sports and Games: Lifetime Category

1.Shri Dinesh Jawahar LadCricket
2.Shri Bimal Prafulla GhoshFootball
3.Shri Raj SinghWrestling

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2022

Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2022

S. No.CategoryEntity recommended for RashtriyaKhel Protsahan Puruskar, 2022
1.Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young TalentTransStadia Enterprises Private Limited 
2.Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social ResponsibilityKalinga Institute of Industrial Technology
3.Sports for Development Ladakh Ski & Snowboard Association


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

Bharathi Pradeep
Bharathi Pradeep
Editor at Bharathi covers topics on Competitive exams, How To guides, Current exams, Current Affairs, Study Materials, etc. Follow her on social media using the links below.

More Articles Like This